Jape and Royseven Winners at the Meteor Choice Music Prize

Written by admin. Posted in Industry News

Jape have been announced as winners of the Meteor Choice Music Prize Irish Album of the Year 201Jape and Royseven Winners at the Meteor Choice Music Prize1 for their album “Ocean Of Frequency” (Music Is For Losers). The judging panel made up of 11 Irish music media professionals deliberated at length to choose the album which represented the best of Irish music from the shortlist of 10 records released by Irish artists throughout 2011. Instead of using sales or airplay as criteria, the Meteor Choice Music Prize judges focus, simply and solely, on the music.

Jape received a cheque for €10,000, a prize which has been provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA) – as well as a specially-commissioned award, courtesy of the Recorded Artists Actors Performers (RAAP). The sold-out event in The Olympia, Dublin featured performances by all 10 shortlisted acts. The event was hosted by Today FM’s Paul Mcloone and was broadcast live on the station on Paul’s show as well as a live webcast on the via Venue One.
The winner of the Meteor Choice Music Prize Irish Song of the Year was also announced Royseven won the prize for the song “We Should Be Lovers”. Decided by the public via text vote and online through Meteor’s Facebook page over 10,000 votes were submitted to choose the 2011 Irish Song of the Year. The prize was presented to “Royseven” by Tony Fenton and Meadbh Quinn of Meteor.
The full shortlist of nominated albums for the Meteor Choice Music Prize Irish Album of the Year was as follows (albums in alphabetical order):
And So I Watch You From Afar – Gangs (Richter Collective)
Bell X1 – Bloodless Coup (Belly Up Records)
Cashier No 9 – To The Death Of Fun (Bella Union)
Lisa Hannigan –  Passenger (Hoop Records)
The Japanese Popstars – Controlling Your Allegiance (EMI)
Jape – Ocean of Frequency (Music Is For Losers)
Patrick Kelleher & His Cold Dead Hands – Golden Syrup (Osaka Records)
Pugwash – The Olympus Sound (EMI/1969 Records)
Tieranniesaur – Tieranniesaur (Popical Island)
We Cut Corners – Today I Realised I Could Go Home Backwards (Delphi)
All of the shortlisted albums are available through HMV in their stores nationwide.

Culture Ireland funded the attendance of key overseas delegates at the event.

Past recipients of the Choice Music Prize have included:
2005: Julie Feeney – 13 Songs (Julie Feeney)
2006: The Divine Comedy – Victory for the Comic Muse (Parlophone)
2007: Super Extra Bonus Party – Super Extra Bonus Party (Alphabet Set)
2008: Jape – Ritual (Co-op Records)
2009: Adrian Crowley – Season of the Sparks (Chemikal Underground)
2010: Two Door Cinema Club – Tourist History (Kitsune)