James Vincent McMorrow Wins EBBA 2012

Written by Admin. Posted in Member News

James Vincent McMorrow has been announced as the recipient of a 2012 European Border Breakers Award (EBBA), which celebrates top new talents in European popular music.

The awards recognise artists who have succeeded in reaching out to audiences beyond their home country with their first international release. James debut album, “Early in the Morning”, was released in February 2010 to widespread critical acclaim.

James will be presented with his award at a televised ceremony hosted by Jools Holland at Eurosonic Noorderslag in Gronongen, Netherlands on 11th January 2012.

The ceremony – including performances by most of the winning acts – will be broadcast by Dutch National Television (NOS/NTR) and will also receive European coverage through TV channels and radio stations.

One of the winners will also receive a 'Public Choice Award'. From 1 November until December 31 the public can vote for their favourite artist on By voting, they could win a trip to the award ceremony.

Former winners of the 'EBBA Awards include Adele, The Baseballs, Carla Bruni, KT Tunstall, Tokio Hotel, The Ting Tings, Lykke Li, The Scripts, Milow, Katie Melua, Mumford and Sons and Caro Emerald.

The full list of winners of the 2012 EBBA awards is as follows:
• Elektro Guzzi (Austria)
• Selah Sue (Belgium)
• Agnes Obel (Denmark)
• Ben l'Oncle Soul (France)
• Boy (Germany)
• James Vincent McMorrow (Ireland)
• Afrojack (Netherlands)
• Alexandra Stan (Romania)
• Swedish House Mafia (Sweden)
• Anna Calvi (UK)

Latest News