NewSoundWorlds presents The Amstel Quartet featuring Maria McGarry

Written by admin. Posted in Member News

 Ireland Promoting New Music presents

New Sound Worlds : May 2012

The Kevin Barry Room at The National Concert Hall

8.30pm, 16 May 2012: The Amstel Quartet featuring Maria McGarry

Jane O’Leary – riverrun 2008
Siobhán Cleary – Conachlann 2008
Ian Wilson – her charms invited 2011(world premiere)


Otto Ketting – Close Harmony 2010
Fant de Kanter – FEINT 2012 (world premiere)
Albert van Veenendaal – Minor Incidents 2012 (world premiere)

NewSoundWorlds welcomes the celebrated Amstel Quartet to the Kevin Barry Room for an evening of new music. A performance of Irish and Dutch works and a combination of Irish and Dutch performers, Wed 16 May is a truly bi-national evening! Combining tested Amstel Quartet favourites and two world premiere works, the evening brings the ever popular quartet once more to the heart of Dublin.

NewSoundWorlds series curator, Siobhán Cleary, illustrates the techniques behind her work Conachlann; written for the Amstel Quartet and Maria McGarry for the Sligo New Music Festival in 2008 and featuring McGarry as a guest for this performance in the Kevin Barry room. Cleary states, ‘Conachlann was a technique used in early Irish poetry where the last word of a line is repeated as the first word of the next line. The piece replicates many of the devices found in the poem, such as the incremental rhythms and the internal and end assonances.’

Characterised as ‘the most colourful saxophone quartet in the world’, the Amstel Quartet are no strangers to Ireland. They receive frequent invitations to perform, due not only to their rich sound, but also to the incredible diversity in their repertoire. According to the quartet themselves, ‘technical limitations do not exist, and musical boundaries are only there to be crossed’, resulting in an engaging experience for audiences each time. The concert on 16 May is a energetic end to another season of exciting new works of Irish and international new music. NewSoundWorlds can also be found on Facebook or Twitter – you can follow us there for more information closer to the concert date.

NewSoundWorlds is a concert series curated by the composer Siobhan Cleary. The series is presented by Ireland Promoting New Music (IPNM) which was set up in 2005 to improve opportunities for the performance and dissemination of contemporary music and to introduce Irish audiences to exciting new works from home and abroad. The NewSoundWorlds concert series is funded by grants from the Arts Council/An Comhairle Ealaoin and is supported by The National Concert Hall, through the provision of the Kevin Barry Room, and by the Contemporary Music Centre from their offices in Fishamble Street.


Ticket Information:

Tickets: €15 (€8 unwaged/student)

Tickets are available from The National Concert Hall

Tel: 01 4170000 or email