The Art of Sound – a glimpse into the creativity of some Irish composers

Written by admin. Posted in Member News

Want to meet some of Ireland’s new music makers? See what they look like and hear how they sound?

The Art of Sound exhibition showing in Ballymote Community Library, Co. Sligo, 1 – 31 May offers the opportunity to do just that. Admission is free and the exhibition runs during library opening hours. Presented by the Contemporary Music Centre this multi-media exhibition looks at new music making from the first idea through to the final performance. The creative process usually takes place behind closed doors, but this exhibition brings it to life through striking photographs of the composers and images of their work.

The Art of Sound exhibition features photographer Eugene Langan’s dramatic and perceptive photographs of Irish composers. An audio-guide narrated by Eamonn Lawlor, RTÉ lyric fm, brings to life the music that is displayed, leading to a truly unique and rich experience for the visitor.

In tandem with the exhibition the Contemporary Music Centre, in partnership with Music in Drumcliffe, presents a New Music Literary Trail during the Music in Drumcliffe Festival, 5 – 7 May 2012 featuring composers Brian Boydell, Rhona Clarke and Donnacha Dennehy and music inspired by W.B. Yeats. This New Music Literary Trail takes place in the grounds of St Columba’s Church, Drumcliffe and is FREE admission.

Originally devised by the Contemporary Music Centre in partnership with the Music Department of University College Cork, The Art of Sound exhibition at Ballymote Community Library is made possible through the support of the Arts Council/An Chomhairle Ealaíon and Ballymote Community Library.

For information on Ballymote Community Library please contact tel: 071 9111669 or


Presented by the Contemporary Music Centre at Ballymote Community Library, Sligo

 The Art of Sound – a multimedia exhibition

1 – 31 May 2012     Ballymote Community Library, Teeling St., Ballymote, Co. Sligo



Gerald Barry
Mícheál Ó’Súilleabháin
Seán Ó’Riada
Jennifer Walshe
Seóirse Bodley
Barry Guy
John Gibson
Frank Corcoran
Rob Canning
Aloys Fleischman
Fergus Johnston
Grainne Mulvey
Kevin Volans
Judith Ring
Stephen Gardner
James Wilson
John Wolf Brennan
Benjamin Dwyer
Deirdre Gribbin
Raymond Deane

with audio-visual guide by Eamon Lawlor, RTÉ lyric fm