CISAC Announces President, Vice Presidents and New Board of Directors

Celebrated Chinese Film Director Jia Zhang-ke Joins as a CISAC Vice President

The International Confederation of Societies of Authors and Composers (CISAC) announced today the results of its 2016 elections for President, Vice Presidents and Board of Directors, held in Paris on 3 June.

Electronic music pioneer, composer and producer Jean-Michel Jarre was re-elected as President for a three-year term. Three of CISAC’s Vice Presidents were also re-elected: Grammy Award-winning singer-songwriter Angélique Kidjo from Benin; internationally-renowned Argentinean director Marcelo Piñeyro and celebrated Senegalese sculptor Ousmane Sow. The confederation also announced the election of award-winning Chinese film director, scriptwriter and producer Jia Zhang-ke as Vice President.

The elections took place during CISAC’s 2016 General Assembly, which this year also marked the organisation’s 90th anniversary. Held in Paris, the birthplace of authors’ rights and collective management, the meeting gathered over 250 representatives of CISAC member societies from all over the world.
CISAC was established in Paris in 1926 by a small group of like-minded societies that shared a common goal, to represent the interests of authors, and a common model, the collective management of rights. Ninety years later, CISAC has grown into the leading global network of authors’ societies, with 230 members representing over four million creators from all artistic fields: music, audiovisual, drama, literature and visual arts. COM16-0606 Page 2 of 3

President of CISAC since 2013, Jean-Michel Jarre has infused CISAC’s advocacy work with charismatic vitality. Since his first election, he has spoken compellingly and passionately about authors’ rights, raising CISAC’s international profile. Advocating relentlessly on behalf of CISAC’s four million creators, he has upheld their rights at institutions such as the World Intellectual Property Organization, the United Nations and UNESCO.

Vice Presidents
Along with Angélique Kidjo, Marcelo Piñeyro and Ousmane Sow who were re-elected for another three-year term, CISAC is proud to welcome internationally-renowned film director Jia Zhang-ke as new Vice President. Upon graduating from the Beijing Film Academy, Jia rapidly achieved international success, notably winning the Golden Lion for Still Life in Venice in 2006 and Best Screenplay for A Touch of Sin at the Cannes International Film Festival in 2013. The following year, Jia served as a Cannes Jury member. Jia was awarded the Carosse d’or and had his film Mountains May Depart compete for the Palme d’or during the 2015 edition of the festival.

Commenting on the election of the President and Vice Presidents, CISAC Director General Gadi Oron said: “We are thrilled that Jean-Michel Jarre, Angélique Kidjo, Marcelo Piñeyro and Ousmane Sow have been re-elected as President and Vice-Presidents of CISAC. We are also delighted to welcome celebrated film director Jia Zhang-ke as our new Vice President. Jia’s election would help strengthen CISAC’s relationship with China and the community of Chinese creators, at a time when China is increasingly improving its protection of authors’ rights and establishing itself as a leading market for creative content”.

New Board of Directors
CISAC’s General Assembly also elected a new Board of Directors consisting of 20 member societies, each of which will serve for a three-year term. The new 2016-2019 Board of Directors is effective immediately. Representing authors’ societies from all geographies and artistic repertoires, it comprises representatives from the following authors’ societies : APRA (Australia), ARTISJUS (Hungary), ASCAP (U.S.A.), Bildupphovsrätt (Sweden), BMI (U.S.A), GEMA (Germany), JASRAC (Japan), LIRA (Netherlands), ONDA (Algeria), PRS for Music (U.K.), SACD (France), SACEM (France), SACM (Mexico), SADAIC (Argentina), SAMRO (South Africa), SGAE (Spain), SIAE (Italy), SOCAN (Canada), UBC (Brazil) and VEGAP (Spain).

About IMRO
Our Board
Our People
Press Room
Governance & Policy
Music Creators
Coronavirus Advice & Resources
Members' Handbook
About Copyright
How do I Copyright a Piece of Music?
Copyright & Traditional Music
Muso Online Protection Solution
History of Performing Rights
FAQs on Copyright
Royalty Distribution Schedule
IMRO Distribution Policies
Competitions & Opportunities
Travel Grant Form
Irish Radio & Useful Contacts
Other Music Bodies in Ireland
Structure of the Irish Music Industry
Affinity Schemes
Music Creators FAQs
International Partners
Music Users
Customer Update | Covid-19
Do I Need a Licence?
Sign Up for a Music Licence
Pay Your Licence Online
IMRO and PPI Tariffs
Dual Music Licence Explained
Music Licences for Businesses
Hair, Beauty & Health
Factories & Offices
Leisure, Sports, Social & Fitness
Functions & Other Events
Pubs & Bars
Restaurants & Hotels
Music on Hold
Music Licences for Live Events
Music Licences for Broadcast & Online
Music for TV Broadcast
IMRO TV Blanket Licence
MCPS TV Blanket Licence
Independent Production Company Licence
Secondary Exploitation / Programme Sales
Music for Radio Broadcast
Music for Online Music Use
Online Music Licences
General Entertainment On Demand (GEOD)
General Entertainment On Demand (GEOD) Licence Form
Performing Right Online Licence (PROL)
Performing Right Online Licence (PROL) Form
Music licences for Recorded Media
Production Music
Production Music Form
Individual Synchronisation (Sync) Rights
Music Licences for CDs & DVDs
AP2 Form
Covermount AP7
AP7 (CD) Form
AP7 (DVD) Form
Premium Products
DVD / AVP Licence (Audio-visual product)
Music Services B2B
Music Users FAQs
FAQs on Music Licensing
What’s Your Soundtrack Campaign
Supporting Music
IMRO Live Music Venue Awards
IMRO Tune-Up Your Business Award
IMRO Academy
IMRO Seminars & Workshops
IMRO Music for Film & TV
Other Voices 2019
Sponsorship Applications
News Archive
Contact Us

Please select login