Two Door Cinema Club Win The Choice Music Prize Irish Album Of The Year 2010

Two Door Cinema Club have just been announced as the winner of the Choice Music Prize – Irish Album of the Year 2010 for the album Tourist History (Kitsune). Two Door Cinema Club received a cheque for €10,000 – a prize which has been provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA) – as well as a specially-commissioned award, courtesy of the Recorded Artists And Performers Ltd (RAAP).
The 11 strong jury panel of Irish music media professionals deliberated at length tonight and chose the album from the shortlist of 10 records released by Irish artists throughout 2010. The sold-out event in Vicar Street, Dublin featured performances by 9 of the 10 shortlisted acts (Imelda May is currently in Australia and was unable to attend). The event was hosted by Today FM’s Alison Curtis and was broadcast live in a special broadcast on Today FM’s Paul McLoone Show.
The full shortlist of nominated albums was as follows (albums in alphabetical order):
Adebesi ShankThis is the Second Album of a band called Adebisi Shank (Richter Collective)
The Cast of CheersChariot
Cathy DaveyThe Nameless (Hammer Toe Records)
Fight Like ApesThe Body of Christ & The Legs of Tina Turner (Model Citizen)
HalvesIt Goes, It Goes (Forever & Ever) (Hate is The Enemy)
Imelda MayMayhem (Universal)
James Vincent McMorrowEarly in The Morning (Faction Records)
O EmperorHither Thither (Universal)
Two Door Cinema ClubTourist History (Kitsune)
VillagersBecoming a Jackal (Domino)

All of the shortlisted albums are available through HMV in their stores nationwide (with the exception of The Cast Of Cheers album which is only available via download).
In recognition of the role of the Choice Music Prize as an important showcase for Irish music, Culture Ireland supported a delegation of key international music industry press, promoters and publishers to attend the event.

Previous winners of the Choice Music Prize Irish Album Of The Year are:
2005: Julie Feeney – “13 Songs”
2006: The Divine Comedy – “Victory For The Comic Muse”
2007: Super Extra Bonus Party – “Super Extra Bonus Party”
2008: Jape – “Ritual”
2009: Adrian Crowley – “Season Of The Sparks” (Chemikal Underground)

Latest News

About IMRO
Our Board
Our People
Press Room
Governance & Policy
Music Creators
Coronavirus Advice & Resources
Members' Handbook
About Copyright
How do I Copyright a Piece of Music?
Copyright & Traditional Music
Muso Online Protection Solution
History of Performing Rights
FAQs on Copyright
Royalty Distribution Schedule
IMRO Distribution Policies
Competitions & Opportunities
Travel Grant Form
Irish Radio & Useful Contacts
Other Music Bodies in Ireland
Structure of the Irish Music Industry
Affinity Schemes
Music Creators FAQs
International Partners
Music Users
Customer Update | Covid-19
Do I Need a Licence?
Sign Up for a Music Licence
Pay Your Licence Online
IMRO and PPI Tariffs
Dual Music Licence Explained
Music Licences for Businesses
Hair, Beauty & Health
Factories & Offices
Leisure, Sports, Social & Fitness
Functions & Other Events
Pubs & Bars
Restaurants & Hotels
Music on Hold
Music Licences for Live Events
Music Licences for Broadcast & Online
Music for TV Broadcast
IMRO TV Blanket Licence
MCPS TV Blanket Licence
Independent Production Company Licence
Secondary Exploitation / Programme Sales
Music for Radio Broadcast
Music for Online Music Use
Online Music Licences
General Entertainment On Demand (GEOD)
General Entertainment On Demand (GEOD) Licence Form
Performing Right Online Licence (PROL)
Performing Right Online Licence (PROL) Form
Music licences for Recorded Media
Production Music
Production Music Form
Individual Synchronisation (Sync) Rights
Music Licences for CDs & DVDs
AP2 Form
Covermount AP7
AP7 (CD) Form
AP7 (DVD) Form
Premium Products
DVD / AVP Licence (Audio-visual product)
Music Services B2B
Music Users FAQs
FAQs on Music Licensing
What’s Your Soundtrack Campaign
Supporting Music
IMRO Live Music Venue Awards
IMRO Tune-Up Your Business Award
IMRO Academy
IMRO Seminars & Workshops
IMRO Music for Film & TV
Other Voices 2019
Sponsorship Applications
News Archive
Contact Us

Please select login